So, this is probably the part of the series that everyone has been wanting me to get to, because, let’s be real, this is the info people with anxiety want.

How to overcome.

If you haven’t read the first two parts of my series you can read the first here and the second here.

So this is the first portion of my list of the actual “hows” of how I overcame anxiety. Now, remember that this is my unique experience. My journey and everybody’s journey will look different. However, I do sincerely believe that almost everything on my list could be applicable to almost anyone suffering with anxiety.

So, here’s the first portion of my list (the second portion will come in Part IV of my series):

I admitted that I had anxiety:

You cannot deal with your anxiety if you won’t admit you have it. And I know, I know, how awful it can feel to admit it. For me, with my pride about never being afraid, it was very difficult for me to admit that I had anxiety issues. Being afraid, having anxiety, being sensitive- none of those things were acceptable in my household growing up.

But my admission about my anxiety was absolutely essential to my journey of healing.

You have to admit that you are dealing with hard stuff. Whether it be anxiety, depression, grief, addiction, or whatever the case may be, it needs to be admitted. You cannot get better until you admit there is something wrong.

I got counseling:

I know. Scary.

Nobody wants to see mental health professionals. I don’t know why. I think everyone should see a counselor at some point. I just do. But then I’m a counseling student. So. I’m probably biased.

If you do decide to seek professional counseling, it may take you a couple tries to find the right fit. That is okay.

Personally, I went to a few different professional therapists. I found a few good ones that were helpful to me at each part of my journey. Through the process of counseling, I realized that I had a childhood trauma that heavily impacted my anxiety disorder.

This discovery was great, because I needed this discovery to get better. And it was awful, because now I had to work through it.

I will be honest with you, my anxiety did not get better right away. Why? Because sometimes when you are diving into the abyss of unresolved, deeply-buried issues, your body, your emotions, and your mind do not like it. Your psyche, or whatever it might be-maybe self-preservation-wants this stuff to stay hidden. But this needs to happen. You need to dig deep. However, it will probably be painful.

It’s akin to breaking a bone, it never being set back right again, but your body healing anyway. And then you’re never the same again. Then one day, this bone that’s still not right, starts bugging you so much that you go to the doctor. Then the doctor has to do surgery. Then you need painful physical therapy to set the situation right again. You have to retrain your muscles to work right. And it hurts! The whole situation sucks! But it is necessary so that you can function again.

Well, the above is just like dealing with traumas or deep-seated issues that must be dug into so that you can get better. You might cry. You might experience stress. You might get angry. Your counselor will probably give you homework to help you work through things.

Yet, that’s all okay. It’s okay for you to process. It is acceptable for you to not be okay. Because this is temporary.

I know it feels permanent, but it is not. It doesn’t have to be if you are willing dig deep and sometimes make changes (and we will get to some of those changes in Part IV. Yay!!).

If you’re brave enough, whisper it to yourself right now, “I might not be okay today, but I will be thriving some day. I will not give up.” 

In Part IV of this series I will outline several more ways I overcame anxiety. I believe a majority of them are applicable to almost anyone suffering with anxiety. I wanted to tie it all up in this one post, but this post simply would’ve been too long. I can’t wait to finish it and post it next week!

Have you suffered from anxiety? If so comment below!

And if you haven’t already, please follow me on WordPress! 

Leave a comment